2017 ANZ Premiership Draw Released

15 November 2016

A blockbuster Super Sunday featuring all six teams in action in Hamilton will signal the start of the inaugural ANZ Premiership - New Zealand's new elite Netball league - on March 26, 2017.

Released today by Netball New Zealand, the ANZ Premiership fixture features 13 rounds including three Super Sundays (Rounds 1, 6 and 12) before culminating in a two-game Finals Series with the top three teams.

Featuring six teams; SKYCITY Mystics, Northern Stars, Waikato Bay of Plenty Magic, Central Pulse, Mainland Tactix and Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel - fans will be treated to supreme skills and fierce rivalries in what promises to be the world's most intensely fought, captivating and innovative female sports league.

All matches will be broadcast LIVE on SKY TV on Sundays, Mondays and Wednesdays.  Sunday afternoon games will be at a family-friendly time, while Monday night Netball will return, along with the addition of a brand new timeslot on Wednesday nights.

Netball New Zealand CEO Jennie Wyllie says she can't wait for the March 26 opener.

"In 131 days fans will have the chance to see high energy, innovative Netball played by the fittest, most competitive and driven athletes," Wyllie said.

"The ANZ Premiership signals the start of a new era for Netball in New Zealand. We can't wait to showcase the athletes, the teams and the league to fans all over the world."  

The Mainland Tactix play six regular season home games in 2017 - five in Christchurch and one in Nelson.  The Mainland Tactix season will kick off in Hamilton, with the first home game in round 2 against the Northern Stars in Christchurch on April 2.  With 2017 Mainland Tactix Memberships on sale from mid-December, it's shaping up to be an exciting year in New Zealand netball.

The inaugural ANZ Premiership Grand Final will be played on Wednesday 28 June.