Fresh faces earn nod for FAST5 Ferns

15 August 2018

The Central Zone dominates the FAST5 Ferns team announced to compete at the Fast5 Netball World Series in Australia at the end of October.

A 10-strong team has been confirmed for the two-day action-packed event in Melbourne, with six players coming from ANZ Premiership Grand Finalist Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse.

Karin Burger’s stellar season has been rewarded with her first selection in the New Zealand FAST5 Ferns team and she joins Pulse team-mates Aliyah Dunn, Ameliaranne Ekenasio, Sulu Fitzpatrick, Claire Kersten and Whitney Souness.

The versatility of Northern Stars’ Holly Fowler sees the 21-year-old earn her first selection for the FAST5 Ferns having covered positions in the mid-court and circle defence this season, while dynamic centre Kimiora Poi (Silvermoon Tactix) has been another player to turn heads in 2018.

Three players return from last year’s squad including Ekenasio, Souness and Monica Falkner.

New Zealand has an envious record in the shortened form of the game having won the title six times since the tournament’s inception in 2009.

England is the only other team to have tasted Fast5 success having lifted their maiden crown in 2011 and a second title last year when they beat Jamaica in the final.

The Fast5 Netball World Series will be played in Melbourne at Hisense Arena from October 27-28 and includes teams from New Zealand, Australia, England, Jamaica, Malawi and South Africa.


Kimiora Poi – Silvermoon Tactix

Karin Burger – Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse
Aliyah Dunn – Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse
Ameliaranne Ekenasio – Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse
Monica Falkner – Waikato-BOP Magic
Sulu Fitzpatrick – Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse
Holly Fowler – Northern Stars
Claire Kersten – Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse
Bailey Mes – SKYCITY Mystics
Whitney Souness – Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse