Silver Ferns Development Squad and NZA Team named

15 August 2018

Netball New Zealand is pleased to announce the 2018/19 Silver Ferns Development Squad and NZA team.

A 15-strong squad has been confirmed by the National Selection Panel with a number of new faces named on the back of an impressive ANZ Premiership campaign.

Defenders Kate Burley and Courtney Elliott’s inclusion mark a meteoric rise this season after starting the year in the Beko Netball League.

Both players were called into ANZ Premiership for the Northern Stars and Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel respectively where they made the most of their opportunities.

Fellow defender Sulu Fitzpatrick makes a return to the elite programme after her selection in the Development Squad, seven years after making her Silver Ferns debut.

Fitzpatrick has had a stand-out season for Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse as she looks to add to her one Test cap.

The rise of mid-courter Kate Heffernan is another feature of the Development Squad after the wing defence was called into the Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel mid-way through the season as injury cover. She too made an impression with her limited court time in the ANZ Premiership and performances during the Beko Netball League.

Shooters Ellie Bird (Silvermoon Tactix) and Jennifer O’Connell (Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel) bring height and accuracy to the squad while promising mid-courter Kimiora Poi (Silvermoon Tactix) has been rewarded in her rookie ANZ Premiership season.

Meanwhile, the New Zealand A team – which includes 11 players from the Development Squad – has also been named, featuring Silver Ferns Squad members Bailey Mes, Michaela Sokolich-Beatson and Maia Wilson.

They will meet Australia, South Africa and England in the build-up to the Netball Quad Series which starts in Auckland next month.

The coach appointment process for the Development Squad and NZA is currently underway.


Ellie Bird – Silvermoon Tactix
Erikana Pedersen – Silvermoon Tactix
Kimiora Poi – Silvermoon Tactix

Kate Burley – Northern Stars
Courtney Elliott – Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel
Monica Falkner – Waikato-BOP Magic
Sulu Fitzpatrick – Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse
Holly Fowler – Northern Stars
Shannon Francois – Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel
Kate Heffernan – Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel
Claire Kersten – Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse
Kate Lloyd – Waikato-BOP Magic
Tiana Metuarau – Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse
Jennifer O’Connell – Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel
Whitney Souness – Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse


Kimiora Poi

Kate Burley
Monica Falkner
Sulu Fitzpatrick
Holly Fowler
Shannon Francois
Kate Heffernan
Claire Kersten
Bailey Mes
Tiana Metuarau
Jennifer O’Connell
Michaela Sokolich-Beatson
Whitney Souness
Maia Wilson