Tactix set to take on Canterbury Men’s side

03 February 2020

The Good Oil Tactix are excited to announce a public pre-season match against the Canterbury Men’s Invitational team in the lead-up to the 2020 ANZ Premiership.

Netball Mainland and the Christchurch Men's Netball Association are hosting the event which sees the Tactix go up against the Canterbury Men at 3pm on Sunday 23 February at Cowles Stadium in Christchurch.

It’s part of a double-header event which also sees the Mainland Beko Netball League side play a Canterbury Men’s Combined team earlier in the afternoon at 1pm.

The Good Oil Tactix head coach Marianne Delaney-Hoshek said while they often train behind closed doors, it was a fantastic opportunity to play the men in a public event.

“We are very excited to showcase both the Tactix and our local men’s players to our community. The men give up their time readily to assist us in both our pre-season preparation and during the season, so it’s great to be able to acknowledge them in this way. We hope our community will come and support both teams,” she said.

Canterbury Men’s Invitational co-captain Riki Clark said it was a privilege to be part of the event.

“The Canterbury Men’s Invitational team are excited for the opportunity to showcase men’s netball within the Mainland region. We feel honoured to compete against The Good Oil Tactix and are confident the public will enjoy the best of what netball has to bring,” Clark said.

The Men’s team will include Victor Godsmark-White and Jamie Brown who were both members of the NZ Men’s team who went up against the Silver Ferns at the end of last year.

Both matches are open to the public, with adult tickets just $5 and a gold coin entry for children under 15.

Tickets are available at the door only, with free entry for current Tactix members.

The Good Oil Tactix:

Ellie Bird, Charlotte Elley, Temalisi Fakahokotau, Sophia Fenwick, Samon Nathan, Erikana Pedersen, Kimiora Poi, Jess Prosser, Te Paea Selby-Rickit, Jane Watson

Canterbury Men’s Invitational Team:

Jamie Brown, Mau Te Rangimarie Clark, Riki Clark (co-capt), Quintin Gerber, Victor Godsmark-White (co-capt), Nick Grimmer, Greg Lord, Mark Overton, Naze Silbery, Ben Smith, Jaryn Tainui